While I haven’t gone the Sigma and MAC route of brushes, I have somehow accumulated a couple from local and accessible counters.  So I present to you the 5 brushes I think you should get if you want to keep up with your makeup addiction without wasting whatever money you have left:

From top to bottom: Ever Bilena Eyeshadow brush, Pinkies Collection unnamed brush, Marionnaud Pointed Eyeshadow brush, Etude House Blending brush; ELF Eyeshadow brush
From top to bottom: Ever Bilena Eyeshadow brush, Pinkies Collection unnamed brush, Marionnaud Pointed Eyeshadow brush, Etude House Blending brush; ELF Eyeshadow brush

1. ELF Eyeshadow brush – This brush has been with me for about 3 or 4 years now.  It’s locally available in ELF counters for about 130 to 150 pesos.  It has the right shape and size for a regular shader brush.  I use this to pat eyeshadow on the lids and to pat on powder concealer on spots or the undereye.  You can get creative with this brush and use it for almost anything if you just want that one eye brush.

2. Etude House Blending brush – This isn’t what I typically would call a blending brush because of how short and stiff the bristles are but for the Koreans, it is one apparently.  Priced at 198 pesos, this brush serves an important role in my hooded eye life.  I use it to draw shadow, in shades of brown, right above the fold of my lids to give that illusion of a deep fold.  And because of it’s tapered shape, the edges it creates are not sharp.  My life made easy thanks to this brush.

3. Marionnaud Pointed Eyeshadow brush – I use this when I’m cutting crease or lining the socket or when putting shadow in the inner or outer V of the eyes.  The softness of this brush makes blending or extending the shadow easy as well.  And it’s cheap for around 60 pesos.

4. Pinkies Collection Brush – This brush didn’t come with a name so do whatever you want to do with this brush.  I use it as a gel liner brush.  If you’re new to gel liners and liner brushes scare the hell out of you(because you don’t breathe when you’re lining or else), then this is the best starter brush.  It’s thin enough with the right stiffness and brush length.  The handle is just right too.  This brush is not intimidating at all and it’s only 99 pesos.

5. Ever Bilena Eyeshadow brush – So this was marketed as an eyeshadow brush but those bristles will never work as one unless you’re using cream eyeshadows.  I got this to use it as a concealer brush but ended up enjoying it more as a lip brush.  I forgot the price but definitely it shouldn’t be more than 100 pesos.  I don’t like lip brushes that are thin and long as they take more time to fill the lips in and they get your lip shade streaky and all over the place.  This one’s easier to control and get’s the job done fast.

Bye bye for now!

 

 

 

