About 5 years ago while I was still in school, I told myself I have to be an entrepreneur when I hit the age of 25. I have to have my own business.  When I was first interviewed for my job 4 years ago, I was asked by the company President, “How do you see yourself 5 years from now?” I quipped, “I have my own business, a “mini-conglomerate”.” He asked what kind of business and I told him I wanted to own a cafe/bar that was quaint and away from the crowd, and a business related to fashion and make-up as well.  That answer irked him for a while, I was applying for a job in the IT industry after all.  Cosmetics, Fashion and Social drinking seemed like a far fetched idea for him, a complete 360 degrees.

Fast forward to four years and a couple of months after that interview, one of my closest friends messaged me that he needed to work after bumming for 2 years, that he needs to be busy, that he needs to have a business and that if I could join him.  He asked me what I wanted, I answered what I exactly told my boss 4 years ago, to have a cafe/bar.  In a matter of 2 or 3 days, we saw ourselves, with another close friend who we met in college and had shared the same idea, planning  from the concept, layout, location down to the financials.  We were keen on making it happen.

Finding the right place for the cafe/bar was probably the most difficult and depressing part of the planning.  We were seriously struggling.  We found so many locations, good and cheap ones, that we were ready to rent but someone would always beat us to it.  After 3 months since that first August conversation, we finally found our spot.  We’ve finally started to roll. We’re now renovating.

I’m not going to lie, this venture scares me but at the same time it excites me so much I wanted to quit my job.  It’s amusing that what I had dreamed of 5 years ago when I was just some shirt/shorts/slippers kind of a student would actually happen.  Realizing all that almost made me cry the other night.

I am about to become a business owner.

When you have vision, a dream, something you’re serious about but unsure of the results, there’s only one thing to do, go make it happen!

And did I forget to mention that I just turned 25 last September?

ATTRAVERSIAMO!

